2/3/13

So while I’ve been away from my computer I’ve been attending shows and trying to be more social. So I bring you the Mtlmaiden’s Daily Dose Review.

First off I went to Sicarius’ last show. Because I have been lazy and procrastinated seeing this band I felt like I should attend their last event at least. So I arrived at Koots ready to be disappointed and stumble upon another cliché alaskacore band. And that’s when they caught me off guard. Sicarius is definitely not an alaskacore band. They somehow managed to create an amazing metal ruckus without the typical boxy and unprofessional tinge of unadjusted levels. This is reassuring as they moved to Oregon in hopes of “making it big”: hence it was their last Alaska show. Every member of the band pulled their own which helped make a tone that makes you want to shove the closest person into the pit. I can honestly say I regret only seeing this band once-especially since the show was cut short by a fan’s dislocated knee. But that kind of was the metal icing on the cake demonstrating how brutal they are. Bummer if you didn’t check out this band. You missed out.

373111_542370792448912_2024577002_n[1]

Next I decided to continue to be a scenster and keep on the trail of local metal and discover new bands- which is why I found myself at The Anchor one Thursday evening for Brandon’s Birthday Bash. It did take some encouraging from Brandon himself to appear but I figured I didn’t have much to lose. And I have to say his band, Shifter, is pretty relentless for a three piece. If you’re in the neighborhood or don’t have plans and you know they’re playing near bye, go check them out. They wont disappoint.

276734_147789295373428_786655768_n[1]

I continued with my support of the local scene by showing some all-ages love. And that’s how I found myself at The Fiesta Room asking “Where the hell am I?” Just kidding. But it was their second Epic Meal Show so I hoped it would be as entertaining as the first. (And it was.) I got to listen to some local favorites and watch band members shove copious amounts of food in their faces.  And Decepticide played a killer Black Sabbath cover. Always a great time.

555187_546047112081146_478149209_n[1]

So where might Mtlmaiden be turning up next? It’s possible I could be spotted at any one (or all) of these shows.

The Rage Against The Machine Tribute Show– at Koots. Hosted by Family Tree Presents. There’s a $5 cover but that’s cheap so no excuses. They are also doing a food drive to support Children’s Meal Mission so be a good person and bring something for the kids. The bands are diverse and it should make for a totally rad show.

187773_465117920211450_1686964664_n[1]

And out in Eagle River at the Boys and Girls Club Family Tree is bringing an all ages show-Teen Music Night. And another totally awesome food drive so you can either pay $5 or bring 5 cans of food for The Food Pantry. Cool bands, a good purpose-so why not?

592288_469815479742705_958699995_n[1]

So far that’s all I’ve heard of as far as upcoming local metals- seeing as I don’t have facebook anymore(I confess I enjoy being out of the loop and oblivious).

Now that we’ve taken care of local metal-here is what’s going on in the global and national scene.

Mayhem Fest dates have been announced (YAY!).

06/29 San Bernardino, CA – San Manuel Amphitheater
06/30 Mountain View, CA – Shoreline Amphitheatre
07/03 Auburn, WA – White River Amphitheatre
07/05 Phoenix, AZ – Desert Sky Pavilion
07/06 Albuquerque, NM – Isleta Amphitheatre
07/07 Englewood, CO – Fiddler’s Green Ampitheatre
07/10 Toronto, ON – Molson Canadian Amphitheatre
07/12 Burgettstown, PA – First Niagara Pavilion
07/13 Camden, NJ – Susquehanna Bank Center
07/14 Darien Center, NY – Darien Lake Performing Arts Center
07/16 Mansfield, MA – Comcast Center
07/17 Bangor, ME – Bangor Waterfront
07/19 Scranton, PA – Toyota Pavilion
07/20 Saratoga Springs, NY – Saratoga Performing Arts Center
07/21 Hartford, CT – The Comcast Theatre
07/23 Holmdel, NJ – PNC Bank Arts Center
07/24 Bristow, VA – Jiffy Lube Live
07/26 Noblesville, IN – Klipsch Music Center
07/27 Tinley Park, IL – First Midwest Bank Ampitheatre
07/28 Clarkston, MI – DTE Energy Music Theatre
07/30 Atlanta, GA – Lakewood Amphitheatre
07/31 Tampa, FL – 1-800-ASK-GARY Amphitheatre
08/02 Austin, TX – Tower Amphitheatre
08/03 The Woodlands, TX – Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion
08/04 Dallas, TX – Gexa Energy Pavilion

Unfortunately we don’t know for sure who is playing and won’t until next month where they will be released slowly via interwebs one by one, week by week, in the most painful manner possible. I cannot freaking wait as last years lineup was amazing and it was one of the best concerts I’ve ever been to.

The movie Sound City was recently released in select theaters. I bought my tickets in advance and went to the Alaska premier showing. Needless to say Dave Grohl kicks ass in movie making in addition to his mastery of music. Another reason to want to hate him, another reason to want to be his best friend because he is so freaking badass! For people in the dark (shame on you!) it’s about the famous recording studio that held the likes of Johnny Cash, Fleetwood Mac, Metallica, and way too many other killer bands. And Dave Grohl decides to be even more awesome and purchase the famous console that these historic albums were recorded on and then get all the famous musicians who recorded on it to come jam with him and everyone else and make a kick ass album together. Now how much do you want to hate Dave Grohl? Me too. It’s a great film that every music lover should put on the top of his or her “to watch” list.

So a long time ago, sometime early last year, I wrote about Cannibal Corpse releasing their 25th anniversary box set. Well it has been revealed and looks as amazing as I thought it would. I want!! Too bad I have to wait till March and it’s a hundred bucks. Totally worth it though if you’re a collector!

Cannibal Corpse box set

More for your shopping list: Motorhead just released Motorhead Sacrifice Shiraz. A boxed wine that looks like an amp. How cool is that!? (For boxed wine.) Too bad it is only released in Sweden… they get all the good stuff.

NAMM just recently happened. So the awesome people at Metal Injection compiled their list of 5 coolest guitars unveiled at the convention. I think they picked well so you should check out their selection in this article. HERE. CLICK THIS.

I assumed that this “band” Unlocking The Truth would be like all the other internet fads of cute kids playing metal. Boy was I wrong. These 11 year olds from Brooklyn are more metal than a lot of what gets shown through internet fads. They can seriously wail and I’m thinking they have bright futures in the world of heavy metal. Here is a sample.

That’s all I got right now! Keep it metal! \m/

Mtlmaiden

Leave a Reply

