3/29/12

What is up my metal minions? Hope you all are having a good week so far and to try to make it all better I have a few things I think are pretty cool, pretty metal, and that you might enjoy.

To kick things off I’m going to talk about something I’ve been talking about for the past few weeks: new Shadows Fall! And today we have the title track “Fire From the Sky” that has been released on noisecreep. This is good news because I’m tired of listening to the crappy bootleg of the song that is all over youtube. It is epic! And metal! And sounds good. It sounds like Shad but it has a new twist that I can’t quite place my finger on (maybe it comes from their new band logo). But I love it! Seriously, now that I’ve heard this track I am prepared and stoked for the whole album. Give it a listen here! 

Huge news today was released in regards to the Sonisphere Knebworth Festival. IT HAS BEEN CANCELLED. As one of the largest and most anticipated European music festivals, this came as a huge shock. Here is the official statement:

It is with very heavy hearts and much regret that we announce the cancellation of Sonisphere Knebworth 2012.

Putting the festival together in what is proving to be a very challenging year was more difficult than we anticipated and we have spent the last few months fighting hard to keep Sonisphere in the calendar.

Unfortunately circumstances have dictated that we would be unable to run the festival to a standard that both the artists and that Sonisphere’s audience would rightly expect.

We want to express our deepest regrets to the artists and to thank all the staff, suppliers and contractors who worked so hard with us to try and pull off what has proven to be an impossible task and we know how much they share in our disappointment. We also want to send a huge thanks to the Sonisphere fans who stuck by us and we are so sorry that we can’t fulfil what we set out to do.

Ticket holders will automatically receive a full refund direct from their ticket agents.

Team Sonisphere.

But the other Sonisphere festivals across Europe are still a go. So it’s not all bad!

In local news: HAPPY ANNIVERSARY FAMILY TREE! This awesome local promotion company has been bringing up awesome acts such as As I Lay Dying, August Burns Red, Shadows Fall, Whitechapel and MANY other bands for the past 5 years. Go tell them congrats! We’re lucky to have them help keep the music scene here going!

Also tonight at the S Lounge will be a fun local gig for only 5 bucks! Catch Zombieskillingnazis, Destroyer, Thunderfish, and Holofrost tonight starting at 8 pm. Support local music.

Boredom and youtube led me to this crazy dude. He says he is a hippy and he rocks out on the banjo. Granted he doesn’t quite seem like he is all there but he’s funny to watch and can wail on a banjo and wears some awesome metal t-shirts. I think this dude should totally be in a metal band. Metal band with a banjo…now that would be something!

 

So I’m sure every metalhead has a list of their top festivals they’d love to go on, I know I do. And it is time to add another one to that list! It’s called the Barge To Hell, and yes it is like 70000 tons! And yes it is done by the same people who do 70000 tons! And yes it will be as epic! This year is the first one and it will set sail December 3rd through the 7th. So far they’ve released a totally kick ass lineup and they say that’s not even half of the bands that will be on it! They project 40 bands to be on board! Tickets are not on sale yet but when they do go on you better be ready because I’m betting this boat will fill up fast! It departs from Miami and heads to the Bahamas leaving a trail of rotting corpses in its wake! (Well, not literally rotting corpses but figuratively.) It has been deemed “the world’s most extreme metal cruise”. There will be three stages and each band will be playing two live shows on the trip. There will also be meet and greet sessions as well as many more awesome things for the artists and guests to do on board. So now that I’ve gotten you pumped up for this awesome trip of a lifetime I’m sure you’d like to know who so far has confirmed to rock the boat. Here is the lineup so far:

Artillery
Enslaved
Hackneyed
Hypocrisy
Krisiun
Loud Blast
Moonspell
Paradise Lost
Norgoth
Possessed
Rotting Christ
Sacred Reich
Sanctuary
Sepultura
Six Feet Under
Sodom

image

Can you believe there will be MORE?! Anyway you can register to book at the official website: www.bargetohell.com. Anyone want to take me with them?

So this news just made me really impatient. Apparently slayer has NINE new songs for the upcoming new cd. In a recent interview The Nervous Breakdown had with Dave Lombardo, he said that he and Kerry King have been working hard and writing a bunch of new material for the upcoming album. When asked what the new album will sound like he responded with “SLAYER”. Which is the best response ever! He also said that “Traditional fans will be pacified and non-tradition fans will be like, ‘Again’?” YESSSSS! When questioned about when the album will be out he said they’re unsure but will be putting out a three or four song EP until the record is done. Words cannot express how much I love this band for understanding my impatience. You can read the whole interview here. I really recommend you do. This is one of the best interviews I’ve read lately and is very comprehensive. Lombardo talks about all he has been up to lately. My favorite quote of the interview is his response to the question about listening to new metal that has been coming out, “How can you listen to anything else heavy when you play in Slayer? Nothing compares to it.” So if you like Lombardo or Slayer or both go read that interview. Seriously. Go read it.

In Sabbath news: Tony Iommi recently released an update on how he is doing:

Well, I’ve had the last dose of chemotherapy, so hopefully my body will start to get back to normal soon. The steroids were the [worst]. I’ve now got three weeks of radiotherapy coming up which I’m told can be very tiring, so we’ll see.

“A big thanks to Ozzy [Osbourne] and Geezer [Butler] for coming over to England; it was a big incentive for me. We managed to work most days and have some great new tracks.

“And, importantly, thanks again for your kind messages. Hope to be seeing you soon.

Glad he is keeping optimistic and things are going well his direction.

 

Apparently when Devildriver was on tour in Illinois, Jeff Kendrick’s guitar got stolen on Monday. Kind of ridiculous but I guess the guitar was returned the next day. Yay! I’d want to steal it too…so pretty! Keep an eye on your instruments people! Or some asshole will take them.

image

So I’ve heard a bunch around the metal communities about this band Swedish band Ghost. Nobody knows who their band members are and it’s a big secret and they’ve done a bunch of tours and apparently have a large fan base. So I decided to finally get their cd and check out what the hype was about. I imagined something really heavy and gritty. To my surprise I got a really melodic band with chill, clear riffs and clean, haunting vocals. It’s more rock than metal. It sounds almost like classic rock with a twist. But I confess I actually like it. Every song is pretty catchy. I really like the song “Satan Prayer”. Their debut album, Opus Eponymous, was released in January of 2011 and has gained considerable popularity since. They have also done a cover of The Beatles hit “Here Comes the Sun”. It is interesting to say the least. I dig it. So if you have procrastinated listening to this band like I did it’s time to give them a listen and see if you can get into it. 

image

Here is the cover art for their debut cd, Opus Eponymous. Isn’t that a cool band logo?

image

 

So I have been keeping you up to date with the Death To All tour info that is slowly being released. The lasted news regarding the tour is the opening act for the tour will be the Canadian death metal band Gorguts. Here are the dates of the tour and Gorguts has committed to every show but the the one in Florida. Righteous.

6/22– The Regency Ballroom – San Francisco, CA
6/23– House of Blues – Los Angeles, CA
6/26– House of Blues – Chicago, IL
6/28– Irving Plaza – NYC, NY
6/30– The Beacham – Orlando, FL

That’s all I have for you today in metal. I will leave you with this little cartoon that should make you smile.

image

As always keep it brutal and most importantly keep it metal. \m/

Mtlmaiden

Leave a Reply

