1/24/12

Welcome back one and all to another episode of Mtlmaiden’s Daily Dose. I am your hostess, Mtlmaiden, and I am here to bring you all up to speed in the world of metal. Today for you I have a vast array of fun exciting things so turn down that Behemoth and tell your little brother to play video games by himself for a few minutes.

To kick things off I’m going to give you an opportunity of a lifetime! (You are welcome.) How does a chance to perform with Carnifex on stage in their upcoming tour sound? Pretty sweet deal I know! Now you might ask, “But Mtlmaiden, how can I obtain this amazing opportunity?” So here is how it is going down: the contest for this chance is a vocal cover contest. And may I present Scott who will be informing you of the official rules of the contest!

 

So I’ve looked a some of the videos and it seems like everyone is on the same page. We like this guy. He is amazing!!! And sounds just like Scott! He has the highs and the lows and performs the song with ridiculous accuracy. Check it out.

 

My fellow headbangers! The wait is over because today you can go get Lamb of God’s Resolution! Or if you absolutely cannot wait to go to the store to get it you can listen to the whole finished album that they are streaming on aol. (Wasn’t that nice and understanding of them!?) Which is exactly what I’m doing. OHHHH MY GOD PREPARE FOR SOME AWESOME MATERIAL! I love their opening song “Straight for the Sun” to me it just says “be prepared for a wall of death any minute”. The album in whole erupts with traditional catchy riffs and Blythe’s aggressive vocals. It’s pretty groovy but maintains it’s brutality entirely. The track “The Undertow” (is my favorite off the album) has a pretty Panteraesque catchiness to it while still maintaining traditional LOG tone. It makes you want to rage like no other. Now I’ve heard complaints on the album saying it isn’t uber heavy. And I just want to say that this isn’t Burn the Priest. So everyone who is stuck in the past, get over it. I can’t believe I will be seeing these amazing musicians in March performing the music I’m hearing now. I’m bouncing up and down with anticipation. So if you are like me and can’t wait till tomorrow, you can go here and listen to the whole thing. I honestly recommend you do it. If you aren’t listening to this right now you are missing out. Also here is the official video for the track “Ghost Walking”. (No, this isn’t the same as the lyric video.)

 

So I know everyone is excited for Resolution, but you should also be stoked for some new Aborted. That’s right! If you all have forgotten, the Belgian death metal band is dropping Global Flatline today! And I dig this band a lot. I have a thing for death metal. I can’t remember if I’m being redundant here but they have released a track from the album already for everyone to listen to. It’s awesome! Oh and it’s entitled “Global Flatline”. So go find it and check it out!

It turns out that someone just let it slip that Slipknot will be headlining the Rockstar Mayhem Festival. The whole official lineup is scheduled to be released on the 25th. So now you get to know two days in advance. Because we just couldn’t wait, right?

Now how about something inspirational? Yes? Okay, can do. Tony Iommi has apparently written two songs for the new Sabbath album since being diagnosed with lymphoma. What a badass! Mr. Geezer Butler blogged that Tony has been just as positive and creative as ever since the diagnosis. This is most excellent news!

Iron Maiden have announced the work of a new live DVD. The DVD will be entitled “En Vivo!” and footage is from their Final Frontier world tour gig in Santiago, Chile. It’s going to be released March 26th. This looks like fun! Get pumped. Here is the track listings.

image

Disk 1: “LIVE AT ESTADIO NACIONAL, SANTIAGO”

1. Satellite 15
2. The Final Frontier
3. El Dorado
4. 2 Minutes To Midnight
5. The Talisman
6. Coming Home
7. Dance Of Death
8. The Trooper
9. The Wicker Man
10.Blood Brothers
11.When The Wild Wind Blows
12.The Evil That Men Do
13.Fear Of The Dark
14.Iron Maiden
15. The Number Of The Beast
16. Hallowed Be Thy Name
17. Running Free

Disk Two- “BEHIND THE BEAST”

1.Behind The Beast documentary
2.Satellite 15…The Final Frontier promo video (director’s cut)
3.The Making of Satellite 15…The Final Frontier promo
4.The Final Frontier World Tour Show Intro

And here is the trailer for it!

 

And yesterday we Alaska metalheads received some totally kick ass news! Family Tree is bringing up Whitechapel again! And I myself am so incredibly excited for this. Why? Because I love this band! And why else? Because I missed them the first time they came up to this frozen northland (I was out of state). But I will finally be redeemed and be able to tear it up for this incredible band. I mean honestly, they are one of the heaviest bands I can think of. Plus, I think its awesome how they can rock three guitarists. How many bands pull it off like that!? (Answer: Not many.) There are two dates set in September; Friday, September 7th at Koots (for the 21+ show) and Saturday, September 8th at Club Millenium (for the all ages show). I heard that the last show was absolutely amazing so I cannot wait to see them! Everyone should go give a HUGE thank you to Sarah and Family Tree for constantly keeping the scene alive and active here in Alaska and bringing up our favorite bands! Go do it. Now! And be sure to get your tickets asap! Here is something to get you prepared for what is to come!

 

So this has been online for week or two now but every time I watch it I end up laughing (usually in my room, alone, awkwardly).  I’ve seen a few of the “radio Disney” edits but none have really caught my attention like this one. I give you Dying Fetus’ “Grotesque Impalement” radio Disney version! Prepare to exercise your stomach muscles. Or at least chuckle a little.

 

That’s all I have for you today! And you should be more than satisfied! (But if you’re not I understand because for me, there is NEVER enough metal.) Keep it metal! \m/

Mtlmaiden

Leave a Reply

