1/16/12

Hello my metal minions! I’m sorry for my long departure…life and a battle with a nasty stomach flu have been keeping me down. But of course I have overcome to bring you all more metal news and entertainment. (A lot of newsy reporting and such. Sorry for the lack of pictures.)

So I don’t know if you all have heard about the drama in Born of Osiris but they recently kicked out Jason Richardson, their guitarist. The fun thing is this wasn’t really parting due to “creative differences”. It appeared to be more like the band was like “Dude, peace out”. Jason states that he had no say in the decision of his leaving the band. He released a big long statement on facebook and said that “I have been fired from the band because I, "don’t agree with the way they want to live their lives" and "it felt like their dad was in the band." So instead of confronting me about my eeeendless bitching about their excessive drinking and assorted drug abuse they decided that calling me at 1:30 in the morning 4 days before Christmas while I’m home visiting family to tell me that all of my belongings from the new BOO house were in my trailer on the way to me in VA was the professional way to handle it. So i can say with pride that I will NEVER play another note on stage with the group of cowards that is Born of Osiris. I don’t give a fuck what they think of me for putting their personal stuff out there, I want everyone to see them for who they really are. Im just happy the truth finally came out and now I know what truly matters to them and it is NOT putting out albums like The Discovery.” Okay and here is where my person opinion comes into play. YAYYYYY!!!!! I’m sorry but The Discovery was a mess. It’s way too prog for me and just altogether not heavy enough. I love BOO prior to that album. So what has Jason decided to do? Join Chelsea Grin of course! He stated that they’re good friends and with the recent departing of their guitarist he will be joining the band and is really excited to be a part of the writing of their new album which is scheduled for release sometime before Warped Tour. Sounds like a pretty good replacement gig to me.

We all love hearing about Metallica and their shenanigans so have you heard that they’re working on a 3D movie? It has indeed been confirmed however they didn’t drop any details. They said that the movie is in the first stages of production and will be scheduled to release sometime in 2013. So have fun waiting a year for that.

Recently Metallica, they’ve discussed their progress with Rolling Stone on the latest album. It is being produced by Rick Rubin. Lars Ulrich told the magazine “We’re about seven, eight songs into it. We do it in rounds. We come up with something, we leave it, go to the next thing, come up with something basic, leave it and circle back around. Next month we’ll go back and start embellishing: ‘Let’s double that one part and come up with a middle bit.’ "When people talk about the old stuff, they think ‘Justice’, but look at ‘Harvester Of Sorrow’ on that album. It’s a fairly simple five-minute song. And ‘Fuel’ is an absolute scorcher live. Right now, I’m thinking shorter, more to-the-point." I’m not sure exactly what to make of that statement. I mean length and “simplicity” isn’t exactly the best description for music. Guitarist, Kirk Hammett stated “If Death Magnetic was a logical successor to …And Justice For All, the next album will be a heavier Black Album. "We’re not going to the depths of complexity that we did for ‘Death Magnetic‘. The stuff we’re coming up with is more groove-oriented, a heavier version of what we were doing in the early Nineties." I can dig a groovy, heavy Metallica. But I have to admit I’m probably going to make you all listen to it first when it comes out just so I know it isn’t as horrific as Lulu.

More Metallinews: the band just announced that they will be releasing their Beyond Magnetic EP on a CD. It’s been digital since it was released for their 30th anniversary celebration. The four track EP will be in stores on January 30th. But you’ve all probably torrented it already.

For all musicians and aspiring musicians: this is for you. Have you heard of the website Bandhappy, yet? If no here’s a quick summary of what it is: it is a website where you can sign up for music lessons from your favorite musicians. It works mostly thru live video chat sessions and encompasses a range of different teachers and instruments. You can search by artist, genre, and band. Some artists who are already signed up to teach lessons are Jason Bittner (drummer of Shadows Fall), Chris Adler (drummer of Lamb of God), Francesco Artusato (lead guitarist of All Shall Perish), JB Brubaker (lead guitarist of August Burns Red), Ben Harclerode (drummer of Whitechapel), and Jeff Loomis (nuff said), and TONS MORE. Seriously, learning from the people who inspire you? So awesome. This is one technological advance I am very okay with. Check it out at bandhappy.com.

Tony Iommi recently relaeased his first statement after the announcement of being diagnosed with lymphoma. :

My fans, friends & colleagues –

I just want to say how overwhelmed I am with all your messages of support, thank you so much.

Well it’s not what I wanted for Christmas, that’s for sure, but now I can’t wait for the test results to come in and get going with the treatment.

It’s really good that the guys are coming over so that we can continue working on the album as things are going great in the studio.

Well, not much else to say at this time, so thanks again.<

Bless you all,
Tony

We all wish him well of course!

Ronnie James Dio’s wife, Wendy Dio, is working on a pretty cool project: a tribute album for RJD. There’s going to be songs from many of Dio’s different projects from Black Sabbath to Rainbow. Some of the musicians performing on the album are Rob Halford, Dave Grohl, Alice Cooper, Lemmy, Sebastian Bach, and many more. The album is scheduled to be completed by the end of this year. The proceeds will be going to the Ronnie James Dio Stand Up and Shout Cancer Fund.

I now know what I want for my 2013 X-mas present. The 14 disk Death box set. I love this band so much (I mean death metal is my favorite subgenre of metal so it’s a given)! This is going to be absolutely killer! The band announced this on their Facebook page. “The GIANT News announcement…kinda got out of hand. Making announcements in this running format is weird because there is then a thread of hundreds of responses (some, about Chuck coming back from the dead, were a bit OTT…but nevermind). I know it isn’t possible to make everyone happy, but we’re trying like hell for the fans. Anyhow, the news is this: Roadrunner has sent me a contract after working on this for well over a year, allowing for Symbolic to be part of a monster DEATH, 14 disc box set on Relapse. Obviously that would allow us to do Symbolic-era bonus material, as well. We could also (obviously) include stuff NOT on the reissues. Looking at 2013 +. If this hadn’t been worked out with RR, it would have only included 6 DEATH albums. So, this is fucking killer news.” Everyone needs to get stoked, get a job, and save some money for this (myself included).

Classic death metal band (another one of my favorites) Cannibal Corpse has done something way awesome today. The band has set the official release date for their upcoming album Torture to March 13th. And they have also released this incredible new track, entitled “Demented Aggression”, from the album for us all to listen to repeatedly. IT’S SO BRUTAL. And it’s really classic CC sounding with tight riffs and killer vocals and of course a face melting solo. It makes you want to start a pit in your living room. Don’t take my word for it though. Give it a listen yourself. https://player.soundcloud.com/player.swf?url=http%3A%2F%2Fapi.soundcloud.com%2Ftracks%2F33193806&secret_token=s-aWKvH&color=700000You can also preorder the album on their website.

So remember how I mentioned that Randy Blythe was filling in for Andy “Weedgrinder” Horn of Cannabis Corpse at the Cory Smoot Memorial Show? Yes? Good. Here’s some fairly decent footage that surfaced from the show of Cannabis Corpse with President Blythe. It’s decent sound quality and is of their whole set. Oh how I wish I could have been there! (Note the tiny pit- what the heck is up with that?! I’ve created bigger by myself.)

While we’re talking about Mr.Blythe, I just thought I’d throw in this funny tweet he sent me. I just sent him one a few days ago saying how stoked I am about seeing him and LOG destroying the Egan Center and he got back to me with this: “@mtlmaiden And I can’t wait to get there! First time in Alaska for me- I’ve heard it’s beautiful & hope I get time to see a little of it! I will be kinda busy though- I have a date at an S&M club with Sarah Palin. She’s getting spanked til her butt glows in the dark. “ Ha! This guy! (And for all of you who were not aware, I do have a twitter account. I don’t tweet much because I’m still learning how to maneuver the site but you can follow me if you’d like! And tweet about my blog.) 

So this guy…it’s entertaining and I’m still giggling a bit but I do think I feel motivated after watching it. (Even though I don’t exactly know what he’s talking about half the time.) I present to you: The Metal Motivator. He has a bunch of different videos that are like mini motivational speeches. They’re a bit hard to take seriously. In this one he went on about being a dog or something. But when he tells you at the end of the video to “don’t suck and metal up” you kind of have to. I mean who wants to suck right? Well here he is- CJ the Metal Motivator.

That’s all I have for you all today! I hope you’ve enjoyed another rendition of Mtlmaiden’s Daily Dose. Thank you for your patronage. Keep it metal. \m/

Mtlmaiden

Leave a Reply

