12/21/11

So it has been awhile, i know, however between finals for school and partying because school is done I have been pretty preoccupied. But that is okay because I am back and have something awesome for you. May I present to you:

Your Metal Holiday Wish List

So we all hang our stocking’s above the fireplace in hopes that Santa will fill it with a bunch of awesome cd’s and concert tickets and the latest and greatest live dvd. But to prove to Santa just how worthy you are of all those awesome things you need to represent. And what better way to do it than with a slayer stocking?

You can be sure that it will be full of awesome metal garb whether you’ve been naughty or nice. You better pick one up quick online here.

Now here is what you can ask Santa to put in that stocking; arguably the best metal album of 2011, Carnifex’s magnum opus “Until I Feel Nothing”. I honestly can’t tell you how many times I’ve listened to that album already but I know it’s a ridiculous number. I can’t help it, that band is the epitome of everything metal, in my humble opinion. It is by far my favorite album currently. The intro piece, “Deathwish”, is by far the most brutal intro I have come across. It sets the tone for the entire album. It is also an awesome way to scare little children. If you didn’t preorder it like myself, and still haven’t picked up a copy you need to put this album on your list. And if you already have a copy, it makes the perfect gift. I think I’m going to buy one for everybody I know.

 

Now if you’re family doesn’t appreciate the metal like you and I, they probably will tell you to turn it down or even off. As we all know, that is not an option. But metal through cheap ten dollar headphones can really tear down the quality of the music. So what you need is a nice pair of headphones that can maintain the quality of sound, and also block out the sound of your relatives. Survey says the Grado Prestige Series are the ultimate headsets for metal. And because they’re a bit pricey they make for an excellent item to put on that mile long Christmas list. The Grado SR225i’s are a bit steep (however not the most expensive) but make for some high quality metal listening. I hope you’ve been good this year.

image

And as for what should be on the top of your X-mas: booking on the one and only metal cruise, 70,000 Tons of Metal. This four day cruise takes place from January 23rd thru the 27th. It has 40 bands that play and already over 30 have confirmed with some big names such as Children of Bodom, Cannibal Corpse, Nightwish, and Venom. The ship departs from Miami and takes off to the Cayman Islands. I honestly can’t think of a more awesome metal experience than to be on a vacation surrounded by my favorite bands and musicians and a bunch of other metal heads. (I’d probably be following Alexi Laiho around the whole time.) And it is pretty spendy which is why you better hope you’re at the top of Santa’s good list. Or someone loves you a whole lot. Check out the rest of the details, lineup, and pricing at the website. www.70000tons.com

image

And if you’re from Alaska, ask for your LOG ticket if you haven’t picked it up already. Because they’re still expensive. And that is a show that nobody is allowed to miss.

In other news: I just picked up a copy of Veritas CD. Let me tell you, it is awesome!! I’ve already said how much I like their sound and now I can listen to it whenever I want. I was extremely surprised with how well it was mixed and produced (for being local) and the quality is great! It is on iTunes and they have CDs. I prefer CDs always because that’s just how I am-and the cover art is pretty awesome too! For 10 bucks there is no way you can go wrong with supporting awesome local metal.

And here is David Ellefson (of Megadeth of course!) making cookies (!?) and wishing all of you happy holidays!

 

I, Mtlmaiden, am also wishing you all the best of holidays!! May it be merry and metal!

mtlmaiden

Leave a Reply

